IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024: Several renowned cricketers such as Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, and Jos Buttler have been awarded the IPL Orange Cap over the years. David Warner holds the record for winning the most Orange Caps, having won three times in 2015, 2017, and 2019. Chris Gayle, also known as ‘The Universe Boss,’ has won the Orange Cap twice in his IPL journey in 2011 and 2012.

In 2008, Australia’s Shaun Marsh became the only uncapped player to ever win the award at the age of 24. Among the IPL franchises, Lucknow Super Giants, introduced in 2022, are the only ones that have yet to win the coveted IPL Orange Cap. With the new IPL 2024 season coming up, it will be fascinating to see which batter sets the stage on fire.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024
IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

IPL 2008 Orange Cap Winner

In 2008, Shaun Marsh of Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) set the benchmark by amassing 616 runs in just 11 innings, with a staggering average of 68.44 and a strike rate of 139.68. This outstanding performance earned him the inaugural Orange Cap.

IPL 2009 Orange Cap Winner

Matthew Hayden of CSK, who scored 572 runs in 12 innings with 5 half-centuries at an average of 52 and strike-rate of 145, won the Orange Cap for the leading run-scorer of the season.

IPL 2010 Orange Cap Winner

In 2010, the cricketing legend Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian player to clinch the Orange Cap, leading Mumbai Indians from the front with 618 runs in 15 innings, at an average of 47.53 and a strike rate of 132.61

IPL 2011 Orange Cap Winner

In 2011, Chris Gayle from Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), who scored 608 runs in 12 matches, won the Orange Cap. The following year, too, the West Indian batsman with 733 runs in 15 matches won the Cap.

IPL 2012 Orange Cap Winner

Gayle’s explosive batting yielded 608 runs in 2011 and a whopping 733 runs in 2012, with remarkable strike rates of 183.13 and 160.74, respectively.

IPL 2013 Orange Cap Winner

2013: Michael Hussey’s final season with Chennai Super Kings turned out to be his best as the Aussie equalled Chris Gayle’s record from 2012 to score 733 runs

IPL 2014 Orange Cap Winner

Uthappa played six years for Kolkata with his maiden season in 2014 being the most successful. He won the Orange Cap after scoring 660 runs.

IPL 2015 Orange Cap Winner

In 2015, David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) scored 562 runs in 14 matches.

IPL 2016 Orange Cap Winner

Kohli racked up a staggering 973 runs from 16 matches with an eye-popping four centuries and seven fifties as RCB finished runner-up.

IPL 2017 Orange Cap Winner

Warner won the Orange Cap in the 2017 IPL by scoring 641 runs and Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s 26 wickets won him the Purple Cap.

IPL 2018 Orange Cap Winner

Kane Williamson became the first New Zealand player to win the orange cap in the IPL when he scored 735 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2018.

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner

Warner completed his IPL 2019 campaign with 692 runs. He received the Orange cap for the third time, more than any player in IPL history. 

IPL 2020 Orange Cap Winner

With 670 runs to his name, Kings XI Punjab captain KL Rahul creates history as he becomes the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap for Kings XI Punjab.

IPL 2021 Orange Cap Winner

In IPL 2021, Ruturaj Gaikwad amassed 635 runs in 16 matches, won the Orange Cap and made a mark for himself among the elites in Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

IPL 2022 Orange Cap Winner

Jos Buttler won the Orange Cap after finishing with a record-breaking 863 runs in the season in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

IPL 2023 Orange Cap Winner

Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023Shubman Gill scored 890 runs in IPL 2023; Gill is captaining Gujarat Titans in IPL 2024.

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler 863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT
IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

3 thoughts on “IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024”

Leave a Comment