Most Sixes in IPL: Top Players and Teams with the Most Sixes in IPL History!

Most Sixes in IPL: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is all about fast-paced cricket action, where players smash boundaries left and right. Want to know who’s been hitting the most sixes in IPL from 2008 to 2024? Check out our list!

The IPL, organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), is a yearly T20 cricket tournament known for its thrill and excitement. Unlike longer formats like ODIs or Tests, the IPL focuses on entertainment and aggressive gameplay, with players aiming for boundaries every chance they get.

In cricket, boundaries are crucial for scoring big runs. There are two types: fours, when the ball touches the ground before leaving the field, and sixes when it sails over the boundary rope without touching the ground.

Sixes are the most electrifying shots in cricket, drawing huge cheers from the crowd. While fours are safer, many batsmen prefer going for sixes, even if it means taking risks. Some players are known for their ability to hit more sixes than fours, and today, we’ll explore those top performers.

Let’s dive into the list of players and teams with the most sixes in IPL history, spanning from 2008 to 2024!

Also Read: 9 Highest Team Scores in IPL History

Most Sixes in IPL by players

Most Sixes in IPL by players
Chris Gayle: Most Sixes in IPL by players

1. Chris Gayle – A true powerhouse, Gayle holds the record for the most sixes in IPL history, with a staggering 357 sixes.

2. Rohit Sharma – Leading the Mumbai Indians, Sharma holds the second spot with an impressive 255 sixes and still has more to offer in his career.

3. AB de Villiers – In third place is the dynamic AB de Villiers, with 251 sixes to his name.

Chris Gayle (KKR/KXIP/PBKS/RCB)142148.966357
Rohit Sharma (DC/MI)244130.151258
AB de Villiers (DC/RCB)184151.683251
MS Dhoni (CSK/RPS)251135.91239
Virat Kohli (RCB)239130.167237
David Warner (DC/SRH)177139.94228
Kieron Pollard (MI)189147.32223
Suresh Raina (CSK/GL)205136.731203
Andre Russell (DC/KKR)113175.54200
Shane Watson (CSK/RCB/RR)145137.914190
Sanju Samson (DC/RR)153137.563188
Robin Uthappa (CSK/KKR/MI/PWI/RCB/RR)205130.35182
Ambati Rayudu (CSK/MI)204127.541173
KL Rahul (KXIP/LSG/PBKS/RCB/SRH)119134.384170
Glenn Maxwell (DC/KXIP/MI/RCB)126157.25158
Yusuf Pathan (KKR/RR/SRH)174142.971158
Jos Buttler (MI/RR)97148.215149
Yuvraj Singh (DC/KXIP/MI/PWI/RCB/SRH)132129.71149
Sikhar Dhawan (DC/MI/PBKS/SRH)219127.162149
Faf du Plessis (CSK/RCB/RPS)132134.07145
Dinesh Karthik (DC/GL/KKR/KXIP/MI/RCB)244133.23143
Nitish Rana (KKR/MI)106134.94131
Brendon McCullum (CSK/GL/KKR/Kochi/RCB)109131.742130
Rishabh Pant (DC)99147.91129
David Miller (GT/KXIP/RR)122138.231126
Most Sixes in IPL by players

Most Sixes in IPL by teams:

The Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore are neck and neck in the race for the teams with the most sixes in the Indian Premier League.

1Mumbai Indians1548
2Royal Challengers Bangalore1484
3Punjab Kings1393
4Chennai Super Kings1401
5Kolkata Knight Riders1351
6Delhi Capitals1214
7Rajasthan Royals1123
8Sunrisers Hyderabad861
9Deccan Chargers400
10Lucknow Super Giants230
11Pune Warriors India196
12Gujarat Titans181
13Rising Pune Supergiant157
14Gujarat Lions155
15Kochi Tuskers Kerala53
Most Sixes in IPL by teams:

Most Sixes in IPL in a single Innings by players

Chris Gayle, also known as the “Universe Boss”, has once again shown his exceptional skills on the cricket field. He is renowned for his powerful hits and has dominated the list of players with the most sixes in a single innings not just once, but five times. In the 2013 IPL, his unbeaten 175-run innings were truly legendary, as he smashed an impressive 17 sixes and set an unforgettable record.

RankPlayerRunsBalls4s6sStrike RateOpposition
1Chris Gayle (RCB)175*661317265.15PW
2Brendon McCullum (KKR)158*731013216.43RCB
3Chris Gayle (RCB)128*62713206.45DD
4Chris Gayle (RCB)11757712205.26KXIP
5AB de Villiers (RCB)129*521012248.07Guj Lions
6Sanath Jayasuriya (MI)114*48911237.50CSK
7Murali Vijay (CSK)12756811226.78RR
8Andre Russell (KKR)88*36111244.44CSK
9Chris Gayle (KXIP)104*63111165.07SRH
10Adam Gilchrist (DEC)109*47910231.91MI
11Sanju Samson (RR)92*45210204.44RCB
12Shreyas Iyer (DD)93*40310232.50KKR
13Kieron Pollard (MI)8331310267.74KXIP
14Quinton de Kock (LSG)140*701010200.00KKR
15Michael Hussey (CSK)116*5489214.81KXIP
Most Sixes in IPL in a single Innings by players

Most Sixes in an IPL Season

Chris Gayle has topped the list again by hitting 59 sixes in the 2013 IPL season. His West Indies teammate, KKR all-rounder Andre Russell, also known as Russell Muscles, almost broke Gayle’s record in 2019 by hitting 52 sixes. Jos Buttler, an English batsman, is also on the list thanks to his four centuries in the 2022 IPL, during which he hit 45 sixes.

RankPlayerSixesIPL Year
1Chris Gayle (RCB)592012
2Andre Russell (KKR)522019
3Chris Gayle (RCB)512013
4Jos Buttler (RR)452022
5Chris Gayle (RCB)442011
Most Sixes in an IPL Season

1 thought on “Most Sixes in IPL: Top Players and Teams with the Most Sixes in IPL History!”

Leave a Comment